The Biblio-File series, No. 3.

Edited by Rick Sneary, 2962 Santa Ana Street, South Gate, Calif., for the August 1966 F.A.P.A. Mailing, and for others who have shown an interest in the works of John Dickson Carr. Thank and most of the credit for the original research on this project goes to James Wilson, Dave Hulan, Charlie Brown, and to Anthony Boucher for checking the list for errors. Thanks too, to Len Moffatt, for publishing assistance.

Since 1930 John Dickson Carr has written something over 70 books, under his own name and that of his non-secret pen-name of Carter Dickson. He has collaborated on at least two hooks, and turned out numerous radio scripts, magazine short stories, articles and theater reviews. The following list of book titles is offered as an aid to collectors of Carr, in finding what they are missing, and to the chronological order of the series.

Most of the Carr/Dickson stories fall into one of a number of series, and while it is not necessary that they be read in the order of their appearance, the development of the characters or the history is more orderly if they are. All books in a series are by one name, except as noted. Mr. Boucher notes that all the Carr titles have been originally published by Harper (later Harper & Row), and the Dickson by Morrow, excepting collaborations.. "How many authors have stayed with the same publisher for 36 years?" = It has been impossible to trace all the different pocketbook publications, but variant titles for British of pocketbook editions are given "(=...=)". Date following title is first copyright date.

Inspector Bencolin (John Dickson Carr)

It Walks by Night - 1930
The Lost Gallows - 1931
Castle Skull - 1931
The Corpse in the Waxworks - 1932
(=The Waxwork Murders= Br.)
The Four False Weapons - 1937

Non-Fiction (John Dickson Carr)

The Murder of Sir Edmund Godfrey - Pub. in U.S. 1936 The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle - 1949

Collaborations

Fatal Descent - 1939 (Carter Dickson & John Rhode)
New Exploits of Sherlock Holmes - ?
(John Dickson Carr & Adrian Conan Doyle)

Doctor Gideon Fell (John Dickson Carr)

Hag's Nook - 1933 The Mad Hatter Mystery - 1933 The Eight of Swords - 1934 The Elind Barber - 1934 The Three Coffins - 1935 (=The Hollow Man= Br.) Death Watch - 1935 The Arabian Nights Murder - 1936 To Wake the Dead - 1938 The Crooked Hinge - 1938 The Problem of the Green Capsule - 1939 (=The Black Spectacles= Br.) The Problem of the Wire Cage - 1939 The Man Who Could Not Shudder - 1940 The Case of the Constant Suicides - 1941 Death Turns the Tables - 1941 (=The Seat of the Scornful= Br.) Till Death Do Us Part - 1944 He Who Whispers - 1946 The Sleeping Sphinx - 1947 Dr. Fell, Detective (Coll.) -1947 * Below Suspicion - 1949 ** The Dead Man's Knock - 1958 In Spite of Thunder - 1960 The House at Satan's Elbow -1965 Panic in Box C - 1966

- * A Mercury Mystery Magazine.
- ** Introduces Patrick Butler.

Other Detective Novels (author as noted)

Poisom in Jest - 1932 - (JDC)
The Bowstring Murders - 1933 - (Carr Dickson)
The Burning Court - 1937 - (JDC)
The Emperor's Snuff-Box - 1942 - (JDC)
The Nine Wrong Answers - 1952 - (JDC)
Patrick Butler for the Defence - 1956 - (JDC)
(=Patrick Butler for the Defense= pb.)

Short Stories (author as noted)

The Department of Queer Complaints - 1940 - (CD)

(=Scotland Yard, Dept. of Queer Complaints= pb.)

The Third Bullet (appeared in Brition in 1937 as a short novel; in U.S. in 1954 as part of collection with the same title.)

- (JDC)

The Man Who Explained Miracles - 1963 - (JDC)

Sir Henry Merrivale (Carter Dickson)

The Plague Court Murders - 1934 The White Priory Murders - 1934 The Red Widow Murders - 1935 The Unicorn Murders - 1935 The Punch and Judy Murders - 1936 The Peacock Feather Murders - 1937 (=The Case of the Ten Teacups= Br.) The Judas Window - 1938 (=The Crossbow Murders= pb.) Death in Five Boxes - 1938 The Reader is Warned - 1939 And So to Murder - 1940 Nine - And Death Makes Ten - 1940 Seeing is Believing - 1941 The Gilded Man - 1942 (=Death and the Gilded Man= pb.) She Died a Lady - 1942 He Wouldn't Kill Patience - 1944 The Curse of the Bronze Lamp - 1945 (=The Black Sorcerers= Br.) My Late Wives - 1946 The Skeleton in the Clock - 1948 A Graveyard to Let - 1949 Night at the Mocking Widow - 1950 Behind the Crimson Blind - 1952 The Cavalier's Cup - 1953

Historical Novels (John Dickson Carr, except as noted)

The Bride of Newgate - 1950	1815 *
The Devil in Velvet - 1951	1675
Captain Cut-throat - 1955	1805
Fire, Burn - 1957	1829
Fear is the Same (by C.D.) - 1956	1795
A Scandal at High Chimneys - 1959	1865
The Witch of the Low-tide - 1961	1907
The Demoniacs - 1962	1757
Most Secret - 1964	1680(?)

* Approximate historical period of the stories.

Omnibuses volumes (John Dickson Carr)

A John Dickson Carr Trio - 1957
(The 3 Coffins, The Crooked Hinge, & Case of the Constant Suicides.)

Three Detective Novels - 1959
(The Arabian Nights Murder, The Problem of the Wire Cage, & The Burning Court.)

Dr. Fell Omnibus - ? ?

The Alphabetical listing of the books of John Dickson Carr, for use as a collectors check list.

Variant titles are shown in parentheses "(=...=)". The different series are indicated as follows: Inspector Bencolin (IB); Collaborations (C); Doctor Fell (DF); Other Detective Novels (D); Short Stories (SS); Sir Henry Merrivale (HM); Historical Novels (H); Non-Fiction (NF); Omnibuses (Om).

And So To Murder (HM) The Arabian Nights Murder (GF) Behind the Crimson Blind (HM) Below Suspicion (DF) The Blind Barber (DF) (=The Black Sorcerers=) (HM) (=The Black Spectacles=) (DF) The Bowstring Murders (D) The Bride of Newgate (H) The Burning Court (D) The Case of the Constant Suicides(DF) (=The Case of the Ten Teacups=) (HM) Captain Cut-Throat (H) Castle Skull (IB) The Cavalier's Cup (HM) The Corpse in the Waxworks (IB) The Crooked Hinge (DF) (=The Crossbow Murders=) (HM) The Curse of the Bronze Lamp (HM) The Dead Man's Knock (DF) (=Death and the Gilded Man=) (HM) Death in Five Boxes (HM) Death Turns the Tables (DF) Death-Watch (DF) The Demoniacs (H) The Devil in Velvet (H) Department of Queer Complaints (SS) Dr. Fell Omnibus (Om) Dr. Fell, Detective (DF) The Eight of Swords (DF) The Emperor's Snuffbox (SS) Fatal Descent (C) Fear is the Same (H) Fire, Burn! (H) The Four False Weapons (IB) The Gilded Man (HM) A Graveyard To Let (HM) Hag's Nook (DF) He Who Whispers (DF)

He Wouldn't Kill Patience (HM)

The House at Satan's Elbow (DF)

A John Dickson Carr Trio (Om)

The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (NF)

(=The Hollow Man=) (DF)

In Spite of Thunder (DF)
It Walks by Night (IB)

The Judas Window (HM)

The Lost Gallows (IB) The Mad Hatter Mystery (DF) The Man Who Could Not Shudder (DF) The Man Who Explained Miracles (SS) Most Secret (H) The Murder of Sir Edmund Godfrey (NF) My Late Wives (HM) New Exploits of Sherlock Holmes (C) Night at the Mocking Widow (HM) Nine--and Death Makes Ten (HM) The Nine Wrong Answers (D) Panic in Box C (DF) **Pab**rick Butler for the Defence (D) The Pescock Feather Murders (HM) The Plague Court Murders (HM) Poison in Jest (D) The Problem of the Green Capsule (DF) The Problem of the Wire Cage (DF) The Punch & Judy Murders (HM) The Reader is Warned (HM) The Red Window Murders (HM) Scandal at High Chimneys (H) (=The Seat of the Scornful=) (DF) Seeing is Believing (HM) She Died A Lady (HM) The Skeleton in the Clock (HM) The Sleeping Sphinx (DF) The Three Coffins (DF) Three Detective Novels (Om) The Third Bullet (SS) Till Death Do Us Part (DF) The Unicorn Murders (HM) To Wake the Dead (DF) (=The Waxworks Murders=) (IB) The White Priory Murders (HM) The Witch of the Low Tide (H)

Any additions or corrections to this bibliophile will be most welcome.